You are here

Prime Minister Ratas is celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Baltic Way in Riga with his colleagues from Latvia and Lithuania

23. August 2019 - 7:38

Stenbock House, 23 August 2019 – Today, Prime Minister Jüri Ratas is in Riga to attend a meeting of the Baltic Prime Ministers. The Prime Ministers of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania are celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Baltic Way together and will participate in the meeting of the Baltic Council of Ministers, which will focus on cooperation between countries and large-scale joint projects, such as Rail Baltica and the synchronisation of electricity networks.

“On 23 August 1989, Estonians, Latvians, and Lithuanians stood side by side for all of our freedom so we could live in independent, just, and democratic countries. This is where we began our journey towards being free and developed countries and began building everything that, today, we can take comfort in and be proud of. This year, we celebrated the fifteenth anniversary of Estonian, Latvian, and Lithuanian membership in the European Union and NATO, which has given us determination and security to face the future,’ Ratas said. ‘The Baltic Way also commemorates the passing of 80 years from the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact and was an important landmark in the liberation of all of Eastern Europe. Today is the perfect time to remember the importance of the events of 1989 and everything that followed. I am glad to be able to do so with my colleagues from Latvia and Lithuania.’

Jüri Ratas, Prime Minister of Estonia, and Saulius Skvernelis, Prime Minister of Lithuania, are meeting with Krišjānis Kariņš, Prime Minister of Latvia, and Ināra Mūrniece, Speaker of the Saeima. After the meeting, at 11 a.m., the Prime Ministers will place flowers on the Freedom Monument and visit an exhibition about the Baltic Way.

This is followed by a working lunch and a press conference at 2 p.m. The live transmission of the press conference is available here: Then, a formal assembly will take place, featuring performances by Kremerata Baltica, a chamber orchestra of Baltic musicians, and writers Māris Bērziņš, Hasso Krull, and Vladas Braziūnas.

The Baltic Council of Ministers was established in 1994 to ensure the continuity of cooperation between the governments of the three states. This year, Latvia holds the Presidency of the Council.


The Prime Minister’s video greeting for the 30th anniversary of the Baltic Way (in Estonian):